
heb3
 |
It *is* too good to be true!
If the funds belong to you, why should you split them with this person?
Do you know this relative? Personally?
Is the "barrister" contacting you from Lagos, Nigeria?
Has there been mention of any fee that you need to pay up front but will be returned to you in full?
Was the amount of money involved spelled out rather than just in digits (THREE MILLION DOLLARS)?
These are all classic signs of the "4-1-9" Scam. See the links below for some more details. |
|

Jad
|
There are scams going around, people from Africa or far east or southern Asia or Africa are sending emails stating that relative have died and are contacting you for so and so. DO NOT GIVE THEM any PERSONAL INFORMATION. IF A RELATIVE HAD DIED A LAYWER WILL CONTACT YOU BY REGISTERED MAIL, OR COURIER SERVICE NOT BY EMAIL!
Sorry for the blocks but I'm tired of these types of emails spamming my email account and no mater what spam program I use they stil find there way in. Good luck, and no its not a real legit letter.
PS: Contact your local authories and file a report, including the Attorney General office. |
|

taylor2459
|
most people would try to get the money . others would find out who was entitled to the money or at least try. but then agin maybe you will get the money. |
|

Rhonda
 |
Sorry to tell you this, but it is a scam. Delete the email, and forget it. I do not know how they get our private info, but they do and they use it. These people operate outside the US, try to con people into giving them money (yes!) and the FBI cannot touch them because it is out of their jurisdiction.
Been there, done that. Ouch! |
|

tjshandave
 |
If they are asking you to send them money back to them dont do it. If this is what I think it is they will send u a bogus check for the entire amount of money and have you send them a check or wire it to them when the bank finds out the check is no good it is to late go to this web site and you can find simelar scams. itstogoodtobetrue.com I get them all the time I just mess with them to push there buttons if they send the money and it clears then im rich but never give out bank account #'s or home addresses. |
|

RockwallCat
 |
Proceed with caution. Do Not release any of your personal information. |
|

sterno73
 |
What is he asking you to do? If you are being asked to cash a check and send wire half the money to him, run away - run away as fast as you can. Also if it is anything similar to this - it's a scam. If you have to do anything other than receive the money, then don't believe it. Even then, I'd want to know how the person found you. Have you even heard of the relative, and how is it that you are related? I'd be very suspicious. |
|

Hamish
 |
I bet this guy will tell you that he will sign over more than his half to you as soon as you send him a cut. Don`t send a penny. One of the oldest cons in the world. Even if it was on the up and up you are not entitled to it and you would eventually have to give it back when they found the error. |
|

DanE
 |
read this before contacting him
http://www.snopes.com/crime/fraud/nigeria.asp
http://home.rica.net/alphae/419coal/ |
|

churchonthewayseniors
|
it is a scam |
|

murrayc
|
sounds like a scam to me besides another person posted a similar question the other day |
|

Jeter is my hubbie
 |
DONT click on any links and DONT open any attachments in the email. If there are any then most likely its a scam or a virus. Writing to ask this person what is his deal shouldnt be a problem. Im 99.9% sure its a scam, I get those emails all the time. The person might have gotten your name from a database on the internet. Like when you sign up for anything using your name online, they are stored and sometimes those companies sell your email. |
|

that one girl
 |
well there are many different things that u can do 1 thing is that u could look up ur family history online then see if the dead person is actually related to u or not u could also ask some other family members to see if u could trace back to the person there are other things u could do but that would take forever to write out well good luck |
|

Medical and Business Information
|
It's a scam so don't do it. Just forget about him. He could be anyone. |
|

Randi L
 |
It's a scam. Don't even think about it. Do you even realize how easy it is to get your last name from the internet? |
|

hickykitten
 |
i had the same thing happen to me but he was going to give me 70% of the money i just had to pay a fee for insurence purposes i assumed it was a scam and never sent anything |
|

Tamlyn
|
yip common scam. Just got this yesterday and have been checking up on the details. This is how it begins:
BARR. AGNES C. DA SILVA CHAMBER
Office B.P. 111
Cotonou Republic of Benin
Private Tel: +229 98912401.
Private Email: info.acds1@yahoo.fr
Attn; Bateman,
Please kindly accept my apology for sending unsolicited mail to you. I believe you are a highly respected personality, considering the fact that I sourced your profile from facebook. Though, I do not know to what extent you are familiar with events. I am Barrister Agnes C. Da Silva, the attorney at law to Late Engr. George Bateman, a national of your country, who used to work as the Director of Produits petroliers (TOTAL FILLINGSTATION BENIN) in Benin Republic West Africa Here, who was Referred to as my client.
Watch out for this "barrister". He contacted me via facebook. Starting off with 'my dear'.
Not a very skilled fraudster. What barrister would start a formal contact to a stranger addressing them as 'my dear' ? |
|

NENITA
|
Me too, help me. Already I sended all it that request me from the bank. |
|

| |
|