
Smilin'Bob_ The Enzyte Guy
|
Its a scam...... and is NOT legit... delete the email... |
|

BigDave21
|
I think it's legit, there are several websites that have information on the case. Like a few of the other people have said, the first two options don't ask you for any information that they haven't already provided you, only number of days you spent out of the country.
Here is another link about the case from smartmoney that references the ccfsettlement.com website.
http://www.smartmoney.com/news/pr/index.cfm?story=pr-20071203-000312-0701 |
|

Anna P
|
Yes, it's a scam. If they had your name and were legit, they would have your bank acct. no. or at least give you the last four numbers as confirmation. |
|

thepr0nberger
 |
I received the same letter.. some sources are saying its a scam some aren't USA Today and MSN is saying its real though.
http://www.usatoday.com/money/industries/banking/2007-12-07-card-settlement-foreign_N.htm
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/22150772/ |
|

The Shadow
 |
It's good that people are suspicious because there are so many scams. However, this one is legitimate.
It pertains to a class action suit against Visa, MasterCard, Diners Club, and several issuing banks for fees charged to convert purchases in foreign currencies to U.S. dollars. If you received a letter regarding this, it is because your credit card company identified you as being potentially eligible for partial reimbursement of these fees.
The amounts involved are a maximum of 1-3% of your foreign purchases, so it's not worth filing if you had only a small amount of eligible purchases. If you made a large amount of purchases overseas, then it may be worth it.
I filed for a refund several months ago and just received an acknowledgement from the claims administrator. |
|

Wise
|
No, I haven't.
Seems to be a SCAM.
I don't like people who are asking for my bank account number...
Well, I can tell you that their web site is made professionally but that doesn't mean anything..
Have you seen their address and tel. numbers on the bottom of the page? |
|

renminn
 |
9news.com says it's NOT A SCAM. You can also check out the news video here:
http://www.9news.com/news/article.aspx?storyid=82247 |
|

jon s
|
if it was legit they would not have to have your bank account info. they could just issue you a check |
|

envisionmore
 |
655 W Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
www.googlemaps.com. look it up yourself. It is definitely a train station. I used to live in San Diego and I traveled daily through that hub! I'm very cautious about this sort of thing. If you get this as a letter in the mail it will have a Refund ID number. I have heard from a few people that if you enter this number in their site it will fill in you social & credit card information automatically. This would be sufficient enough for my trust............only one problem... It doesn't recognize my refund ID leaving only one other option... hmmmm seems likely to be a scam... If they have details about you already then all power to you and your refund, but I would highly recommend not giving any information to them that they don't already have! |
|

todd w
|
I have the letter right here. There is a phone number and address and they are not asking for any bank or credit card info that I can tell (first 2 options at least).
Also the Philly attorneys listed have a very legit looking website and even have a link to this case: http://www.bergermontague.com/
They also have a listing on lawyers.com: http://www.lawyers.com/Pennsylvania/Philadelphia/Berger-and-Montague,-P.C.-1536395-f.html?
Here is the profile for the San Diego firm as well: http://www.lawyers.com/California/San-Diego/Coughlin-Stoia-Geller-Rudman-and-Robbins-LLP-3205367-f.html?
Even the company listed under the postmark seems legit and in Philly: http://www.sed.com/
Still, it is wierd . . . |
|

Trixie D
 |
Yes, if you Google the address the little pointer is ACROSS THE STREET from the Amtrak station but it is NOT an Amtrak address. Try Goggling the address and you will find it had numerous lawyers' using it. INCLUDING Coughlin Stoia!
So, why not call them and find out for sure? |
|

sm535
|
The San Diego address is not that of an Amtrak station. Amtrak has 4 stations in San Diego. None of their addresses matches with 655 W Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101. |
|

.: V :.
|
I just got this on the mail today.
If you have questions, they ask to contact them directly, not the court or bank. This seems weird. They even ask you for your bank account number and last four digits of your Social security number.
The funny thing is that I've been living in the US since 2004, so if it's true I wont be receiving much : )
If this is not a scam, it sure seems like one.
Their site looks phony too. |
|

sncoupons
 |
This is definitely SCAM!! Here is why:
1. It doesn't say specifically which lawsuit (name?) is settled?
2. It says final settlement is still pending...I don't think before final settlement anyone would send such mail in advance to collect information!
3. The mail says "Do not contact the Court, the Defendants, or your bank with questions about this case!!!!! :-)
4. They have mentioned two addresses to contact "court appointed" attorneys..and they have provided their addresses. One of the address is: 655 West Broadway, Ste 1900 San Diego, CA 92101. Just look up this address in google maps. You will love it. It is San Diego Amtrak station. :-)
5. Settlement administrator's address is Philadelphia Cityhall Station (Subway station)!!! :-) |
|

Maple Sugar
|
I received that letter too. |
|

Heidi M
|
I got the same letter. It's not a scam you can look up information about the settlement on google. They did not request any information from me that they didn't already have. I did option 2 so I did not give any bank information . The only information they asked me for was how many days I traveled over seas and if it was business or pleasure. I would do a lot more research before doing option 3. |
|

loop b
|
I too have received that same letter in the mail. And I am doing research to determine if it is a scam. So far, I think it is a scam because I have never been out of the United States (or bought anything overseas), so I don't understand why I would receive the email. Also, the last page of the "Refund Form" asks for bank account information, which is a red flag for me. The $25 Refund Option 1, does seem worth it to me to take a chance.
- |
|

voluntarheel
 |
Yes I received one, too. I was overseas in 2000. I'm pretty sure its legit - hadn't really thought that it wasn't. Guess I'll do a little search on the internet just to make sure.
Best thing may be to wait closer to the deadline and research it some more just to make sure. |
|

tim
|
I got one too and was suspicious. I found that the website is registered by Heffler, Radetich & Saitta LLP public accountants in PA ( http://www.heffler.com ). I was expecting something overseas. See for yourself by going to your choice of whois tool (like networksolutions.com) and putting in the url. Also I looked around until I saw a news source I trusted that says it's real -- for me this was Clark Howard. http://clarkhoward.com/advice/cac_answers.html#q13 at the bottom. |
|

KD_in_VA
 |
It seems to be legit. Go to this website for some blog on it. http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/34709834/m/444009309831 |
|

Laura B
 |
Which scenario do you reckon is more likely...
...IF a court informs a bank that they owe account holders a refund:?
(Please pick Answer A or B:)
A: A responsible judge assigns an auditor to make sure the banks credit account holders in a timely and accurate manner.
B: An insane judge sets up a third party to send out letters that ask account holders to contact their bank, ask for 10 years of records, determine the amount of overcharges, and submit this amount along with private information to the third party website. Because this might be hard to do, the alternative is to apply for a $25 refund. In either case, the third party then demands that the bank cut you a check.
Seriously, people. Think.
A or B? |
|

F O
 |
I rec'd a notice too...seems legit:
http://www.bizjournals.com/dallas/stories/2007/12/03/daily13.html |
|

Bradley
 |
Not a scam. I went to the website and entered ONLY the random ID that they provided me on the letter. They never asked for any additional information (bank, SS, etc) though since I did the $25 easy claim.
I do think that they should find a better way to differentiate themselves from the scams though. My wife threw hers away before I received mine since she just assumed that it was bogus. |
|

MissingOne
|
THIS IS 100% DEFINITELY A TOTAL SCAM!!!! My husband who is an attorney check this out. I received the same letter via mail. I knew something was suspicious when it talked about me travelling outside the U.S. I have NOT been outside the U.S. ever. They went as far as sending this letter to an address I have not resided in over a year and a half. No legitimate company ask you for your banking information at all. They don't want you to contact the courts regarding the matter. It is a shame you have people out there preying on unknowing individuals at Christmastime! Have a very Merry Christmas everyone. |
|

| |
|